4141 rue Sherbrooke Ouest Suite #625 Westmount, QC H3Z 1B8
Lundi - Vendredi 8:00 - 16:00

Dre Karen M. Kost

Dre Karen M. Kost, MD, FRCS(C)

Professeure agrégée, Département d’otolaryngologie – Chirurgie du chef et du cou, Université McGill
Directrice, Hôpital général de Montréal, Service d’oto-rhino-laryngologie – Chirurgie de la tête et du cou
Directrice, Laboratoire de chant et de dysphagie de l’Université McGill
Spécialisée dans les troubles de la voix et de la déglutition, la chirurgie de la tête et du cou, le Botox et les produits de remplissage.

Dr Kost a fait ses études de premier cycle et sa résidence à l’Université McGill à Montréal. Elle a complété un fellowship en chirurgie oncologique de la voix et de la tête et du cou à l’Institute of Laryngology and Otology à Londres en Angleterre sous la direction de Sir Donald Harrison. Elle est professeure d’otolaryngologie à l’Université McGill et directrice du laboratoire de voix et de dysphagie de l’Université McGill. Les domaines d’intérêt particulier comprennent l’oncologie de la tête et du cou, les problèmes des voies respiratoires et la voix. Elle est l’ancienne présidente de la division d’oto-rhino-laryngologie de la McGill Med-Chi Society et siège à plusieurs comités locaux associés à l’Université McGill.

Le Dr Kost s’intéresse constamment à la santé mondiale. Elle a travaillé dans l’Arctique canadien pendant plus de 20 ans, a pratiqué la première intervention chirurgicale dans le Nord du Québec et a joué un rôle important dans le rapatriement des services médicaux et chirurgicaux au Nunavik dans le Nord québécois. En 2014 et 2015, le Dr Kost a participé à deux missions médicales humanitaires dans des villages isolés de l’Himalaya au Népal, sans accès routier, sans eau courante et sans électricité. En plus de pratiquer la médecine, elle a enseigné et enseigné à des fournisseurs de soins de santé locaux.

Le Dr Kost a été et continue d’être très actif au sein de la Société canadienne d’oto-rhino-laryngologie – Chirurgie de la tête et du cou et a été président des règlements administratifs, représentant régional du Québec et président du Fonds de la Société canadienne d’oto-rhino-laryngologie – chirurgie de la tête et du cou. En 2013, elle a été présidente de la Société canadienne d’oto-rhino-laryngologie et de chirurgie du cou – la deuxième femme présidente de la Société depuis sa naissance en 1946. Elle a mis sur pied la section des femmes en otolaryngologie de la Société canadienne d’otolaryngologie – Chirurgie de la tête et du cou en 2013, puis a formé un comité, assuré le financement de l’Organisation et en a été la présidente de 2013 à 2017. Elle continue de présider le comité de laryngologie de la Société.

Le Dr Kost a également été président de l’American Society of Geriatric Otolaryngology (ASGO) de 2012 à 2014 et président du programme pendant cinq ans, de 2007 à 2012. De plus, le Dr Kost a été un membre actif de l’American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery et de plusieurs de ses comités : le Geriatric Otolaryngology Committee de 2006 à 2016, puis à partir de 2018, le International Laryngology Committee de 2013 à 2017, représentant au Voice Committee et au International Steering Committee depuis 2017. Elle a été présidente du Comité international d’otolaryngologie pour l’année 2016-2017.

Le Dr Kost est impliqué à la fois dans la science fondamentale et dans la recherche clinique axée sur la voix, les troubles de la voix et le chant. Elle enseigne aux étudiants en médecine ainsi qu’aux résidents et est directrice de la bourse de recherche en laryngologie. Elle a été examinatrice pour le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pendant 7 ans et continue de travailler avec le Collège royal dans le cadre d’une équipe restructurant le programme de formation en otolaryngologie au Koweït, où elle travaille également comme examinatrice internationale.

Le Dr Kost a publié de nombreux articles sur la voix et la trachéotomie, qui ont fait l’objet de sa thèse triologique en 2005. Elle est la première Canadienne à être intronisée dans la très respectée Société de triologie. Le Dr Kost est membre de plus d’une douzaine de sociétés médicales, dont la prestigieuse American Laryngological Society, où elle a récemment été nommée membre du conseil. Le Dr Kost est l’auteur de plusieurs publications dans des revues à comité de lecture et de 20 chapitres de livres sur les voies respiratoires et la voix. Elle a publié ou corédigé trois manuels sur l’oto-rhino-laryngologie gériatrique et siège au comité de rédaction de trois revues d’oto-rhino-laryngologie à comité de lecture. Le Dr Kost a donné plus de 400 présentations sur la voix et la trachéotomie dans le monde entier en tant que conférencier principal, conférencier/professeur invité ou conférencier invité.

Le Dr Kost a reçu le prix Birkett en otolaryngologie, le prix du professeur de l’année en otolaryngologie en 2002 et 2009, le prix de reconnaissance et d’engagement de la Société canadienne d’otolaryngologie – Chef et chirurgie du cou en 2009 et le prix Distinction en otolaryngologie de l’American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery en 2014. En septembre 2016, le Dr Kost a reçu le prix Helen B Krause Trailblazer Award de la Women in Otolaryngology of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.

Rencontrez nos médecins

Dr Joseph S. Schwartz

Professeur adjoint, Département d’oto-rhino-laryngologie – Chirurgie du chef et du cou, Université McGill Nominations en chirurgie : Hôpital général juif…

Dre Véronique-Isabelle Forest

Le Dr Forest est professeur adjoint au Département d’oto-rhino-laryngologie – Chirurgie de la tête et du cou de l’Université McGill.…

Dr Alex Mlynarek

Professeur adjoint, Département d’oto-rhino-laryngologie – Chirurgie du cou et de la tête, Oncologie du cou et chirurgie reconstructive de l’Université…

4141 Sherbrooke St. West Suite 625 Westmount, QC H3Z 1B8
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Dr. Karen M. Kost

Dr. Karen M. Kost, MD, FRCS(C)

Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, McGill University
Director, Montreal General Hospital, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Director, McGill University Voice and Dysphagia Laboratory
Specializing in Voice and Swallowing Disorders, Head and Neck Surgery, Botox and Fillers

Dr Kost did her undergraduate studies and residency at McGill University in Montreal. She completed a fellowship in Voice and Head and Neck Oncologic Surgery at the Institute of Laryngology and Otology in London England under the stewardship of Sir Donald Harrison. She is a Professor of Otolaryngology at McGill University and is the Director of the Voice and Dysphagia Laboratory at McGill University. Areas of special interest include Head and Neck Oncology, Airway problems, and Voice. She is the past president of the Otolaryngology division of the McGill Med-Chi Society, and sits on several local committees associated with McGill university.

Dr. Kost has an ongoing interest in Global health. She worked in the Canadian Arctic for over 20 years, performed the first surgical procedure in Northern Quebec and played an important role in repatriating medical and surgical services to Nunavik in Northern Quebec. In 2014 and 2015, Dr. Kost participated in 2 humanitarian medical missions in remote villages of the Himalayas in Nepal with no road access, no running water and no electricity. In addition to practicing medicine, she provided teaching and instruction to local healthcare providers.

Dr Kost has been, and continues to be heavily involved in the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and has served as chair of Bylaws, Regional Representative of Quebec, and President of the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Fund. In 2013, she served as the President of the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Society – the second female president of the society since its birth in 1946. She established the Women in Otolaryngology (WIO) section of the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery in 2013, went on to form a committee, secure funding for the WIO, and serve as its chair from 2013-2017. She continues to serve as chair of the Laryngology committee within the Society.

Dr. Kost has also served as President of the American Society of Geriatric Otolaryngology (ASGO) from 2012 to 2014 and as program chair for 5 years from 2007-2012. In addition, Dr Kost has been an active member of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, and several of its committees: the Geriatric Otolaryngology Committee from 2006-2016, and again from 2018 onwards, the International Laryngology Committee from 2013-2017, Representative to the Voice Committee and the International Steering Committee from 2017 to the present. She served as the chair of the International Otolaryngology Committee for the year 2016-2017.

Dr Kost is involved in both basic science and clinical research focused on voice, voice disorders and singing. She teaches medical students, as well as residents and is the Director of the Laryngology Fellowship. She served as an examiner for the Royal College of physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 7 years, and Continues to work with the Royal College as part of a team restructuring the Otolaryngology training program in Kuwait, where she also functions as an international examiner.

Dr Kost has published extensively on voice and tracheostomy, which was the subject of her Triological thesis in 2005. She is the first Canadian female to be inducted into the highly respected Triological Society. Dr Kost is a member of over a dozen medical societies, including the prestigious American Laryngological Society, where she has recently been appointed to serve on council.  Dr Kost is the author of several publications in peer-reviewed journals and 20 book chapters on airway and voice. She has edited or co-edited 3 textbooks on Geriatric Otolaryngology, and sits on the editorial boards of three peer-reviewed otolaryngology journals. Dr Kost has given over 400 presentations on voice and tracheostomy around the world as an keynote speaker, invited lecturer/professor or guest speaker.

Dr Kost is the recipient of the Birkett prize in Otolaryngology, the Teacher of the Year Award in Otolaryngology in 2002 and 2009, the Recognition of Service and Commitment Award from the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Society in 2009, and the Distinction Award of Otolaryngology from the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery in 2014. In September 2016, Dr Kost was awarded the Helen B Krause Trailblazer Award from the Women in Otolaryngology of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.

 

Summary
Photo ofDr. Karen M. Kost
Name
Dr. Karen M. Kost
Website
Job Title
Otolaryngologist Specializing in Voice and Swallowing Disorders
Company
ENT Specialty Group
Address
4141 Sherbrooke St. West Suite 625 ,
Westmount, QC, Canada, H3Z 1B8

meet other doctors

Dr. Richard Payne

Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, McGill University Surgical Appointments: Jewish General Hospital, Montreal General Hospital,…

Summary
Photo ofDr. Karen M. Kost
Name
Dr. Karen M. Kost
Website
Job Title
Otolaryngologist Specializing in Voice and Swallowing Disorders
Company
ENT Specialty Group
Address
4141 Sherbrooke St. West Suite 625 ,
Westmount, QC, Canada, H3Z 1B8

Dr. Cinzia Marchica

Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery Assistant Professor McGill University Summary

Summary
Photo ofDr. Karen M. Kost
Name
Dr. Karen M. Kost
Website
Job Title
Otolaryngologist Specializing in Voice and Swallowing Disorders
Company
ENT Specialty Group
Address
4141 Sherbrooke St. West Suite 625 ,
Westmount, QC, Canada, H3Z 1B8

Dr. Karen M. Kost

Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, McGill University Director, Montreal General Hospital, Department of Otolaryngology –…

Summary
Photo ofDr. Karen M. Kost
Name
Dr. Karen M. Kost
Website
Job Title
Otolaryngologist Specializing in Voice and Swallowing Disorders
Company
ENT Specialty Group
Address
4141 Sherbrooke St. West Suite 625 ,
Westmount, QC, Canada, H3Z 1B8